Phoenix’s Franklin School wins state preservation award

The non-profit Arizona Preservation Foundation and the State Historic Preservation Office, in conjunction with the Governor’s Office, announced the winners of the 2008 Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards at a luncheon ceremony at the Sixth Annual Statewide Historic Preservation Partnership Conference, “Preservation on the Line.”  Each year, 10 awards are given to individuals, businesses, organizations, and projects in recognition of outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona’s prehistoric and historic patrimony.  This year’s Honor Award winners are:

  • Brunenkant Bakery Building, Florence
  • Central Commercial Company Building, Kingman
  • City of Glendale’s Department of Planning
  • Curley School, Ajo (Grand Award)
  • Franklin Police and Fire High School, Phoenix
  • James A. Walsh Federal Building, Tucson
  • McCullough-Price House Restoration, Chandler
  • Noel Stowe, Arizona State University
  • Santa Cruz County Courthouse, Nogales
  • Tohono O’odham Nation Cultural Affairs Office

A panel of judges representing the fields of archaeology, architecture, history, and preservation, as well as a representative from the Governor’s Office, selected the winners from nominations submitted from across the state.  Click here for more details and photos of this year’s award recipients.  To view past Honor Award recipients, click here.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.